“Straight No Chaser” – Thelonious Monk (documentary film 1988)

Thelonious Monk: Straight, No Chaser (1988) is a documentary about the life of bebop pianist and composer Thelonious Monk. Produced by Clint Eastwood, Bruce Ricker, and directed/co-produced by Charlotte Zwerin, it features live performances by Monk and his group, and posthumous interviews with friends and family. The film was created when a large amount of archived footage of Monk was found in the 1980s. The film, made by Malpaso Productions (Clint Eastwood’s production company), is distributed by Warner Bros.

Track Listing (1996 CD Reissue)

  1. “Locomotive” (Thelonious Monk) – 6:40
  2. “I Didn’t Know About You” (Duke Ellington) – 6:52
  3. “Straight, No Chaser” (Th. Monk) – 11:28
  4. “Japanese Folk Song (Kōjō no Tsuki)” (Rentarō Taki) – 16:42
  5. “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea” (Harold Arlen) – 7:36
  6. “We See” (Th. Monk) – 11:37

Bonus Tracks

  1. “This Is My Story, This Is My Song” (Phoebe Knapp) – 1:42 
  2. “I Didn’t Know About You” (D. Ellington) – 6:49
  3. “Green Chimneys” (Th. Monk) – 6:34

Thelonious Monk – piano
Charlie Rouse – tenor sax
Larry Gales – bass
Ben Riley – drums

monk film

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.

%d blogger hanno fatto clic su Mi Piace per questo: